Skip to Content

There’s No Place Like Home

August 2, 2015 • mvstoller

#MALAT

“There’s no place like home” (Dorothy, Wizard of Oz, 1939)

Waking up this morning in my own bed did feel heavenly, I cannot lie. But as I reflect on this residency I feel blessed and proud. Like Dorothy, I met an amazing cast of characters on my journey and each played a part in making this residency a success.

They made me laugh till I cried, motivated me when I was low, and hugged me when I missed my kids a little too much. Like Dorothy’s friends, I could not have survived without my brain, heart and a little courage. I used my brain in ways I never have before, and now words like epistemology, phenomenology, and hermeneutics (almost) roll off my tounge. I know I will feel much more comfortable at parties with this new vocabulary in my back pocket.

My heart broke a little leaving my girls but their words of encouragement and showing them it is never to late to fulfill a dream is priceless. I also left a small piece of my heart at Royal Roads, its beauty was unmatched and the runs I took in the forest were grounding and mindful. It was truly a magical place. And even though the trees didn’t throw apples at me, the certainly did talk to me. I was most definitely glad that I had courage or I don’t think I would have made it through. I reminded myself that I can dig deep when necessary and do things that I am not inherently comfortable doing.

I tried to figure out who would be my Wicked Witch of the West on this journey which was difficult because there wasn’t anyone I didn’t like. What was cruel and mean and latched on and didn’t let go until you did what it asked? And then it hit me, like a house falling on me in a tornado! APA!

Wicked APA

Like Dorothy, I have been changed. Thank you to all of you who were a part of it.

I look to the next two years as years of continued growth and transformation.

 

One opinion on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. I couldn’t have said it better myself Miriam, even though I tried between tears. While I was waiting for the ferry home, I ran into the father with the sleeping baby from the lounge where we had our farewell/rock/reflection circle. He said that he didn’t mean to be eavesdrop but he had heard one comment about how people are changed by an experience and going home is then different. It really resonated with him and thought it was valuable to reflect on (father with the man-bun, 2015). In my exhausted state, I was relieved to know that I had made some sense even though he hadn’t possibly known the entire context. I stayed with my parents for a couple nights and then drove with them back to my home. They stayed to visit and paint and Thursday night was the first few moments that I had on my own to look back at the whirlwind that was July and take a breath. I am so thankful for the people that I met, the support and the ideas shared as well as the laughing and the sometimes raw nature of the conversation as we all tried to make sense of this new adventure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Skip to toolbar